Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs
Blogging Delaware History



DHCA Buena Vista


Twitter  Flickr  YouTube

events

Halloween-related programs at Lewes, Del.’s Zwaanendael Museum in October 2017

Written on: October 11th, 2017 in Events Museums News

-“Who Did In the Delaware Ducks?” and “Mysteries of History” to be featured-

During October 2017, the Zwaanendael Museum, located at 102 Kings Highway in Lewes, Del., will present two Halloween-related programs.

Tombstones in St. Peter’s Episcopal Church graveyard. Walking tours on Oct. 28 will explore this historic burial ground.

Tombstones in St. Peter’s Episcopal Church graveyard. Walking tours on Oct. 28 will explore this historic burial ground.

On Saturday, Oct. 21, 2017 at 2 p.m., the museum will present the theatrical murder-mystery, “Who Did In the Delaware Ducks?” Created by Zwaanendael Museum staff, the play is based on an actual case that was recorded in the “Court Records of Sussex County, Del., 1677–1710.” In that case, from June 1687, Arthur Starr, a resident of Second St. in Lewes, discovered that two of his ducks had been deliberately killed. As part of the play, museum visitors will serve as detectives, meeting the alleged perpetrator and searching for clues to determine who committed this heinous crime. Guests of all ages will enjoy participating in this historical whodunit.

“Who Did In the Delaware Ducks?” will be presented outside on the museum’s grounds or, in case of inclement weather, inside on the museum’s 2nd floor (entry via staircase; no elevator). Admission is free but, due to space restrictions, reservations are required by calling 302-645-1148 no later than Oct. 20, 2017.

In the second program, “Mysteries of History,” historic-site-interpreter Beth Gott will lead walking tours that explore the unusual tombstones of St. Peter’s Episcopal Church graveyard in Lewes. Tours will depart from the Zwaanendael Museum on Saturday, Oct. 28 at 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. Participation is free but, due to space restrictions, reservations for the tours are required by calling 302-645-1148 no later than Oct. 27, 2017.

The Zwaanendael Museum was built in 1931 to commemorate the 300th anniversary of the state’s first European colony, Swanendael, established by the Dutch along Hoorn Kill (present-day Lewes-Rehoboth Canal) in 1631. Designed by E. William Martin (architect of Legislative Hall and the Hall of Records in Dover), the museum is modeled after the town hall in Hoorn, the Netherlands, and features a stepped facade gable with carved stonework and decorated shutters. The museum’s exhibits and presentations provide a showcase for Lewes-area maritime, military and social history.

Zwaanendael Museum

Zwaanendael Museum

American Alliance of Museums accreditation logo

 

 


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

DHCA Blog Logo

+